Rod Boshart
Published: April 1 2014 | 4:39 pm - Updated: 7 April 2014 | 3:04 pm in Capitol Digest,

The Iowa Senate voted 49-0 Tuesday to confirm 174 appointments to state boards and commissions made by Gov. Terry Branstad. Included in the lengthy list were four gambling regulators: Jeff Lamberti and Carl Heinrich to the state Racing and Gaming Commission and Michael Klappholz and Ying Sa to the Iowa Lottery Authority Board of Directors. Other conferees included Gary Nystrom to the Iowa Alcoholic Beverages Commission, Dawn Ainger, Linda Crookham-Hansen and Christian Murray to the Iowa Economic Development Authority, Michael Bearden, Angela English, Brooke Miller and Mary Ellen Miller to the state Board of Education, Sara Arnold and Laura Stevens to the state Board of Educational Examiners, Alexa Heffernan to the Iowa Council on Human Services, Anthony Gaughan, Jo Martin, Gary Mohr, William Monroe and Suzan Stewart to the Iowa Public Information Board, Kelly Dolan Lange to the Iowa Telecommunications and Technology Commission, Eric Bookmeyer, Craig Johnson, Mark Kapfer and Tammy Robinson to the Vision Iowa Board, and Stacey Andersen, Robert Gilmore, Suzanne Kmet, John Krogman and Norene Mostkoff to the Iowa Workforce Development Board. An affirmative vote of 34 senators, which is a two-thirds majority, is needed to win Senate confirmation.


Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Is there other feedback and/or ideas you want to share with us? Tell us here.

Featured Jobs from