PSU's Taylor wins 2014 Hodge Trophy

Taylor joins Sanderson and Askren as multiple winners; Iowa's Ramos finishes seventh in voting

Published: April 1 2014 | 2:42 pm - Updated: 7 April 2014 | 3:02 pm in

Penn State's David Taylor came away with his second NCAA title in March and now has a second Hodge Trophy.

Wrestling Insider Newsmagazine announced Tuesday that Taylor was named the 2014 Dan Hodge Trophy winner, awarded to the most dominant college wrestler. Taylor won 38 of the 43 official votes. He became just the third wrestler in the history of the award to win it more than once, joining former Iowa State four-time NCAA champion and current Penn State Coach Cael Sanderson, who won it from 2000-02 and former Missouri tw0-time recipient Ben Askren, who won in 2006 and 2007.

Taylor, a four-time national finalist, also won the award in 2012. He finished 60 points ahead of Ohio State junior Logan Stieber, who won his third NCAA title when he claimed the 141-pound title this season.

University of Iowa's Tony Ramos was seventh on the list, winning the 133-pound title this season.


Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Is there other feedback and/or ideas you want to share with us? Tell us here.

Featured Jobs from