Rod Boshart
Published: March 17 2014 | 5:49 pm - Updated: 1 April 2014 | 9:46 am in

The Iowa Senate confirmed eight of Gov. Terry Branstad’s appointees on Monday. Senators voted 45-0 to approve Larry Noble as the state’s public safety commissioner, Brad Buck as director of the state Department of Education, Milt Dakovich to the state Board of Regents, Sheila Tipton to the Iowa Utilities Board, Col. Robert King as executive director of the state Commission on Veterans Affairs, and Brigadier General and former state Rep. Jodi Tymeson as commandant of the Iowa Veterans Home in Marshalltown. Also, former Iowa Congressman and Iowa Senate President Leonard Boswell was confirmed to serve on the state’s Transportation Commission by a 43-2 verdict, while former state Sen. Larry McKibben was approved to serve on the state Board of Regents by a 44-1 margin. Gubernatorial nominees must receive a two-thirds majority – or 34 affirmative votes -- of the Iowa Senate to win confirmation.


Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Is there other feedback and/or ideas you want to share with us? Tell us here.

Featured Jobs from