Rod Boshart
Published: March 4 2014 | 12:41 pm - Updated: 1 April 2014 | 9:08 am in

The newest members of the Iowa Volunteer Hall of Fame will be honored on April 8 during a special recognition ceremony in the state Capitol building in Des Moines during National Volunteer Week. The 2014 Iowa Volunteer Hall of Fame inductees include Hubbell Realty Co. of West Des Moines in the Business/Corporation Category for-profit business providing voluntary service to others through employee volunteer activities; Floyd Hammer and Kathy Hamilton of Union in the Family Category; The We Care Ladies (members include Barbara Appleget of Swisher, Vicki Ehrenberger of Cedar Rapids, Glenda Denning of Cedar Rapids, Jean Goodall of Cedar Rapids and Shary Connel of Cedar Rapids) in the Group Category; Becca Johnson of Dubuque in the National Service Category; and Community Youth Concepts of Des Moines in the Organization/Nonprofit Category. Also, three Iowans were selected in the Individual Category -- Ron Bell of Mondamin, Vilas “Sid” Morris of Cedar Falls and Carlos Portes of Marshalltown. Being selected for the Iowa Volunteer Hall of Fame is the most prestigious state-level honor volunteers can receive. In addition to receiving an engraved plaque during the recognition ceremony, names of inductees are engraved on a special plaque on permanent display in the State Historical Museum.

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Is there other feedback and/or ideas you want to share with us? Tell us here.

Featured Jobs from corridorcareers.com