Iowa's Ramos earns top pre-seed for Big Ten Championships

All 10 Hawkeyes listed fifth or better

Published: March 3 2014 | 11:59 am - Updated: 1 April 2014 | 9:05 am in

The Big Ten Conference has released the pre-seeds for this weekend's conference tournament.

University of Iowa's Tony Ramos received the only No. 1 pre-seed and all Hawkeyes are listed fifth or better, according to the listings announced Monday by the Big Ten. The conference tournament will be held March 8-9 at University of Wisconsin's Kohl Center in Madison, Wis.

Ramos is the top pre-seed at 133 pounds. Former Iowa City West prep Nick Moore is pre-seeded second at 165 for the Hawkeyes.

Red-shirt freshman Cory Clark appears to have received the nod at 125 pounds. The unbeaten freshman is the third pre-seed for Iowa behind Penn State's two-time NCAA finalist top pre-seed Nico Megaludis and defending NCAA and Big Ten champion Jesse Delgado, of Illinois, who is listed second.

Iowa senior and two-time All-American Ethen Lofthouse is third in the pre-seeds at 184. All-American Mike Evans is pre-seeded third at 174.

NCAA champion Derek St. John (157), Brody Grothus (149) and heavyweight Bobby Telford are fourth for Iowa. The Hawkeyes' Josh Dziewa (141) and 197-pounder Nathan Burak are both fifth.

If each of the Hawkeyes wrestle to or above their seeds, according to the preliminary ones, Iowa will send all 10 wrestlers to the NCAA Championships March 20-22 at Chesapeake Energy Arena in Oklahoma City, Okla.

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Is there other feedback and/or ideas you want to share with us? Tell us here.

Featured Jobs from