Solid Waste Agency board names Linn Supervisor Oleson as chairman for 2014

Justin Shields named vice chairman

Rick Smith
Published: January 21 2014 | 3:06 pm - Updated: 29 March 2014 | 2:27 am in

The Cedar Rapids/Linn County Solid Waste Agency board named Linn County Supervisor Brent Oleson its board chairman for 2014.

The board’s practice is to rotate the chairperson’s duties each year between a city of Cedar Rapids member of the board and a Linn County member.

City Council member Justin Shields served as chairman in 2013, and he was named vice chairman at the board’s meeting on Tuesday.

Mark Jones, Cedar Rapids’ solid waste and recycling manager, was named board secretary and City Council member Ralph Russell was named board treasurer.

The nine-member board is comprised of six representatives from the city of Cedar Rapids, two from Linn County and one from the city of Marion.

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Is there other feedback and/or ideas you want to share with us? Tell us here.

Featured Jobs from