Pre-seeds for 51st Ken Kraft Midlands Championships released

Four Hawkeyes earn No. 1 pre-seeds; Loder pre-seeded third at 184 to lead UNI; Wartburg, Grand View represented

K.J. Pilcher
Published: December 23 2013 | 1:39 pm - Updated: 29 March 2014 | 1:14 am in
Print Print

The University of Iowa will once again bring a full lineup to the Northwestern's Ken Kraft Midlands Championships on Dec. 29-30 at Welsh-Ryan Arena in Evanston, Ill.

Twelve Hawkeye wrestlers have earned pre-seeds, which were released Monday, and four of them earned No. 1 pre-seeds at their respective weights. Derek St. John (157), Nick Moore (165), Mike Evans (174) and 184-pounder Ethen Lofthouse are all No. 1 in the initial set of seedings, which may be altered before the brackets are released prior to the tournament.

Iowa has two wrestlers seeded at 125 and 184. Red-shirt freshmen Cory Clark and Thomas Gilman are pre-seeded third and fourth at 125. Red-shirt freshman Sammy Brooks joined Lofthouse at 184, receiving the No. 11 pre-seed. Brooks has served as the 197-pound starter in recent duals. Nathan Burak, Iowa's NCAA qualifier at 197, has not wrestled yet this season, and will make his debut as the No. 3 pre-seed at 197.

NCAA finalist Tony Ramos (133) and heavyweight Bobby Telford own No. 2 pre-seeds. Josh Dziewa (141) and Mike Kelly (149) are seventh and eighth, respectively.

UNI has six wrestlers listed in pre-seeds. Ryan Loder leads the way, sitting in third at 184. Joe Colon (133) is fourth and red-shirt freshman Dylan Peters is fifth at 125. Cooper Moore (165) and 174-pounder Cody Caldwell are both pre-seeded sixth. Joey Lazor is ninth at 141.

Iowa will be represented by other schools and wrestlers.

Grand View heavyweight Eric Thompson, an NAIA national champion, is pre-seeded eighth. He is a former Waverly-Shell Rock state champion.

Former Davenport Assumption Class 2A state champ (2010)and Wartburg NCAA Division III champion Landon Williams is pre-seeded 10th at 174. Former Columbus Junction 2A state champ (2009) Matt Mougin, of Northern Illinois. is listed at 12th at 174.

Midlands Championships Pre-seeds


1. Jesse Delgado, Illinois

2. Jarrod Garnett, Bison Wrestling Club

3. Cory Clark, Iowa

4. Thomas Gilman, Iowa

5. Dylan Peters, Northern Iowa

6. Nate Tomasello, Ohio State UNATT

7. Ryan Taylor, Wisconsin

8. Rob Deutsch, Rider

9. Kory Mines, Edinboro

10. Joey Dance, Virginia Tech

11. Conor Youtsey, Michigan

12. Jared Germaine, Eastern Michigan


1. AJ Schopp, Edinboro

2. Tony Ramos, Iowa

3. Mason Beckman, Lehigh

4. Joe Colon, Northern Iowa

5. Tyler Graff, Wisconsin

6. Alan Waters, Missouri UNATT

7. Zane Richards, Illinois

8. Geoffrey Alexander, Maryland UNATT

9. Jose Mendoza, CSU Bakersfield

10. Rossi Bruno, Michigan

11. Dom Malone, Northwestern

12. Devon Lotito, Cal Poly


1. Mitchell Port, Edinboro

2. Richard Durso, Franklin & Marshall

3. Adam Krop, Princeton

4. Shyheim Brown, Maryland

5. Matt Bystol, Columbia

6. Laike Gardner, Lehigh

7. Josh Dziewa, Iowa

8. Todd Preston, Harvard

9. Joey Lazor, Northern Iowa

10. Ethan Raley , Indiana

11. Pat Greco, Northwestern

12. Ryan Fillingame, Adams State


1. Jason Tsirtsis, Northwestern

2. Darrion Caldwell, RAW 241

3. David Habat, Edinboro

4. Zach Neibert, Virginia Tech

5. Eric Grajales, Michigan

6. Caleb Ervin, Illinois

7. Mitch Minotti, Lehigh

8. Mike Kelly, Iowa

9. Jake Short, Minnesota, UNATT

10. Gabe Morse, Northern Illinois

11. Blake Roulo, George Mason UNATT

12. Brandon Nelson, Purdue


1. Derek St. John, Iowa

2. Taylor Walsh, Indiana

3. Joey Napoli, Lehigh

4. Isaac Jordan, Wisconsin

5. Nick Brascetta, Virginia Tech UNATT

6. Brian Murphy, Michigan

7. Zach Brunson, Illinois

8. Andrew Morse, Northern Illinois

9. Markus Scheidel, Columbia

10. John Greisheimer, Edinboro


1. Nick Moore, Iowa

2. Taylor Massa, Michigan UNATT

3. Steven Monk, North Dakota State

4. Dan Yates, Michigan

5. Jackson Morse, Illinois

6. Cooper Moore, Northern Iowa

7. Brock Gutches, Southern Oregon

8. Ramon Santiago, Rider

9. Pierce Harger, Northwestern

10. Bo Jordan, Ohio State UNATT

11. Ryan LeBlanc, Indiana

12. Nazar Kulchytskyy, UW-Oshkosh


1. Mike Evans, Iowa

2. Lee Munster, Northwestern

3. Hayden Zillmer, North Dakota State

4. Elliot Riddick, Lehigh

5. Bryce Hammond, CSU Bakersfield

6. Cody Caldwell, Northern Iowa

7. Dominic Kastl, Cal Poly

8. Tony Dallago, Illinois

9. Austin Gabel, Virginia Tech

10. Landon Williams, Wartburg College

11. Scott Liegel, Wisconsin

12. Matt Mougin, Northern Illinois


1. Ethen Lofthouse, Iowa

2. Jimmy Sheptock, Maryland

3. Ryan Loder, Northern Iowa

4. Jake Swartz, Boise State

5. Vic Avery, Edinboro

6. Nate Brown, Lehigh UNATT

7. Ophir Bernstein, Brown

8. Jackson Hein, Wisconsin

9. Nick Vetterlein, Virginia Tech

10. Nikko Reyes, Illinois

11. Sam Brooks, Iowa

12. Dominic Abounader, Michigan


1. Mario Gonzalez, Illinois

2. Christian Boley, Maryland

3. Nathan Burak, Iowa

4. Alex Polizzi, Northwestern

5. Chris Penny, Virginia Tech

6. Braden Atwood, Purdue

7. Nick Whitenburg, Eastern Michigan

8. Joe Rau, Minnesota Storm

9. John Bolich, Lehigh

10. Donald McNeil, Rider

11. James Fox, Harvard

12. Shane Siefert, UW Whitewater


1. Mike McMullan, Northwestern

2. Bobby Telford, Iowa

3. Spencer Myers, Maryland

4. Adam Coon, Michigan

5. J.T. Felix, Boise State

6. Connor Medbery, Wisconsin

7. Adam Chalfant, Indiana

8. Eric Thompson, Grand View

9. Chad Johnson, Augsburg

10. Adam Fager, Utah Valley

11. Ty Walz, Virginia Tech

12. Ernest James, Edinboro

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Is there other feedback and/or ideas you want to share with us? Tell us here.