Iowa wrestling ranked first, UNI jumps to No. 6

All three state NCAA Division I programs ranked in top eight

K.J. Pilcher
Published: December 3 2013 | 9:22 am - Updated: 29 March 2014 | 12:23 am in
Print Print

Rankings are just a number. They don't win matches, duals or tournaments.

With that said, they are indicators of the perceived strength of programs, and the state's NCAA Division I programs have earned the respect of some pollsters.

InterMat released its weekly team and individual rankings, based on projected NCAA tournament potential, and Iowa, University of Northern Iowa and Iowa State are listed among the top eight of the team ratings.

Iowa is first with nine wrestlers ranked, including top-ranked Tony Ramos (133) and Derek St. John (157) and No. 2 184-pounder Ethen Lofthouse.

UNI has six ranked wrestlers Joe Colon (133) and Ryan Loder (184), who are ranked fourth at their respective weights and two of four Panthers in the top eight of their class. Colon had beaten previously No. 2 ranked Tyler Graff in UNI's dual win over Wisconsin Saturday at West Gym, climbing from ninth last week.

Iowa State has four ranked wrestlers, led by third-ranked Kyven Gadson at 197. Michael Moreno is fifth at 165, as all four ranked Cyclones are in the top eight of their weights.

Full rankings can be found at InterMat.

Below are the ranked wrestlers from Iowa, Iowa State and UNI and top-ranked wrestler at each weight.

125 Pounds

1. Jesse Delgado (Illinois, Jr.)

4. Cory Clark (Iowa, Fr.)

7. Dylan Peters (UNI, Fr.)


1. Tony Ramos (Iowa, Sr.)

4. Joe Colon (UNI, Sr.)


1. Logan Stieber (Ohio State, Jr.)

8. Joey Lazor (UNI, Sr.)

13. Josh Dziewa (Iowa, Jr.)


1. Drake Houdashelt (Missouri, Jr.)


1. Derek St. John (Iowa, Sr.)


1. David Taylor (Penn State, Sr.)

4. Nick Moore (Iowa, Jr.)

5. Michael Moreno (Iowa State, Jr.)

16. Cooper Moore (UNI, Fr.)


1. Andrew Howe (Oklahoma, Sr.)

6. Mike Evans (Iowa, Jr.)

8. Tanner Weatherman (Iowa State, So.)

17. Cody Caldwell (UNI, So.)


1. Ed Ruth (Penn State, Sr.)

2. Ethen Lofthouse (Iowa, Sr.)

4. Ryan Loder (UNI, Sr.)

7. Boaz Beard (Iowa State, Sr.)


1. Scott Schiller (Minnesota, Jr.)

3. Kyven Gadson (Iowa State, Jr.)

9. Nathan Burak (Iowa, So.)


1. Tony Nelson (Minnesota, Sr.)

4. Bobby Telford (Iowa, Jr.)

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Is there other feedback and/or ideas you want to share with us? Tell us here.

Featured Jobs from