Iowa's Big Ten schedules for 2018-19

This post includes PDFs for Big Ten schedules from 2014 through 2019

Published: October 16 2013 | 10:32 am - Updated: 28 March 2014 | 9:55 pm in
Print Print

Everyone, take a good look around Columbus this weekend.

This will be Iowa's last trip to the jewel of the Olentangy until at least 2020, according to the future Big Ten schedules released Wednesday morning.

The Hawkeyes travel this weekend to No. 3 Ohio State. Iowa's next game vs. the Buckeyes will be 2017 at Kinnick Stadium. After that, who knows. Ohio State isn't on the docket for 2018-19, so 2020 at the earliest.

I'm hoping to hit Clever Crow this Friday night. I'm not sure if either of us will be around in 2020.

Also, remember earlier this summer when the Big Ten hemmed and hawed about Iowa staying with Nebraska as a season finale? The Hawkeyes and Huskers remain locked in for Black Friday through 2019.

Here's the nitty gritty. Big Ten starting its schedules earlier, too. A little bit of an adjustment. Also, the Big Ten will have a new TV contract at some point in 2017 (I believe and I'm rushing this).

From Iowa sports info (remember, Rutgers and Maryland join the B1G next year and the league splits into east and west divisions):


Park Ridge, Ill. -- The Big Ten office announced the conference football schedules for the 2018 and 2019 seasons today, as approved by the Big Ten Directors of Athletics. The schedules continue to include nine conference games, as Iowa will host four Big Ten games in 2018 and five league games in 2019.

Along with playing the six members of the West Division in both seasons, Iowa will meet East Division opponents Indiana, Maryland and Penn State in 2018 and Rutgers, Michigan and Penn State in 2019.

Beginning next season, the Big Ten football division alignments will feature Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers in the East Division. Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin will represent the West Division.

Iowa’s home slate in 2018 includes home trophy games against Wisconsin (Heartland Trophy, Sept. 22) and Nebraska (Heroes Game, Nov. 23).  Iowa and the Cornhuskers will continue to play on Friday, the day after Thanksgiving, in both 2018 and 2019.  Additional home conference games include Maryland (Oct. 20) and Northwestern (Nov. 10).

The Iowa road schedule in 2018 includes games at Minnesota (Oct. 6), Indiana (Oct. 13), Penn State (Oct. 27), Purdue (Nov. 3) and Illinois (Nov. 17).

The Hawkeyes get an early jump on conference play in 2019, as Iowa hosts Rutgers on Sept. 7, the second weekend of the season.  Iowa resumes Big Ten play at Michigan on Oct. 5.  Additional home games are against Penn State (Oct. 12), Purdue (Oct. 19), Minnesota (Nov. 16) and Illinois (Nov. 23).

Iowa closes the 2019 regular season with the Heroes Game at Nebraska on Friday, Nov. 29.  Iowa also travels to Northwestern (Oct. 26) and Wisconsin (Nov. 9).

Iowa will announce its 2018 and 2019 non-conference schedules when all opponents and dates are finalized.

Here are Iowa’s Big Ten football schedules for both 2018 and 2019:

Sept. 22      Wisconsin*

Oct. 6         at Minnesota*

Oct. 13       at Indiana

Oct. 20       Maryland

Oct. 27       at Penn State

Nov. 3        at Purdue*

Nov. 10      Northwestern*

Nov. 17      at Illinois*

Nov. 23      Nebraska*

Sept. 7        Rutgers

Oct. 5         at Michigan

Oct. 12       Penn State

Oct. 19       Purdue*

Oct. 26       at Northwestern*

Nov. 9        at Wisconsin*

Nov. 16      Minnesota*

Nov. 23      Illinois*

Nov. 29      at Nebraska*


Here's the Big Ten release and PDFs of the Big Ten schedules from 2014 to 2019:


Rosemont, Ill. – The Big Ten announced the conference schedules for the 2018 and 2019 football seasons today, featuring nine-game slates for every Big Ten program. The 2018 season gets underway on Sept. 1 in advance of the Big Ten Football Championship Game on Dec. 1. The 2019 season will open on Sept. 7 and conclude with the Big Ten Football Championship Game on Dec. 7. The full 2018 and 2019 conference schedules are attached.

Beginning with the 2016 season, the Big Ten will return to a nine-game conference schedule for all teams for the first time since the 1983 and 1984 seasons. Teams from the East Division will host five conference home games during even-numbered years, while teams from the West Division will host five conference home games during odd-numbered years. As a result of the nine-game conference schedule and the Big Ten’s schedule rotation, every student-athlete will have the opportunity to play against every other team in the conference at least once during a four-year period.

Beginning in 2014, the Big Ten football division alignments will feature Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers in the East Division and Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin in the West Division. Each school will play the other six schools in its division plus two teams from the other division in 2014 and 2015, which will serve as transitional years in which the schools will still be playing eight-game schedules. Beginning in 2016, each school will play three teams from the other division as part of its nine-game schedule. The cross-division games will include one protected matchup on an annual basis between Indiana and Purdue.

The 2013 Big Ten Football Championship Game is set for Saturday, Dec. 7, to be played at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis and televised by FOX. The winner of the title game will earn the Big Ten Championship and a chance to play in either the Rose Bowl Game or Bowl Championship Series National Championship Game.

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Is there other feedback and/or ideas you want to share with us? Tell us here.

Featured Jobs from