WBB: Hawkeyes go to Florida in November - twice

Jeff Linder
Published: August 31 2012 | 9:50 am - Updated: 31 March 2014 | 11:45 pm in
Print Print

IOWA CITY -- The University of Iowa women's basketball team will make two November trips to Florida in a span of less than a week.

The Hawkeyes' non-conference schedule was released Thursday. It's a schedule that includes a spot in the 16-team Preseason WNIT, tournaments in Miami and San Diego, a second trip to Florida, and three games against the traditional in-state rivals.

Iowa was 19-12 a year ago and will play 13 non-conference games -- 14 if the Hawkeyes reach the Preseason WNIT final. The regular season begins against Northern Illinois in a Preseason NIT first-rounder Nov. 9 at Carver-Hawkeye Arena.

The Hawkeyes will play in the FIU Invitational Nov. 23-25 at Miami, will fly home, then will go back south for a game Nov. 28 at Tallahassee against Florida State in the Big Ten-ACC Challenge.

Iowa will play in the San Diego Surf 'N Slam Classic Dec. 28-30.

The Hawkeyes' "Big Four games" are Dec. 1 (UNI, home), Dec. 6 (Iowa State, home) and Dec. 16 (at Drake).

Big Ten play opens Jan. 3, when the Hawkeyes host Ohio State.

The Big Ten slate consists of 16 games. Iowa plays home-and-home series against Michigan, Nebraska, Norhwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin. The Hawkeyes also host Indiana, Ohio State and Penn State and travel to Illinois, Michigan State and Minnesota.

The Big Ten Tournament is March 7-10 at Hoffman Estates, Ill. Iowa will host the first two rounds of the NCAA Tournament, March 24 and March 26.

2012-13 UNIVERSITY OF IOWA WOMEN'S BASKETBALL SCHEDULE

Sunday, Nov. 4 -- Quincy (exhibition), home

Friday, Nov. 9 -- Northern Illinois (Preseason WNIT first round), home, noon

Sunday, Nov. 11 -- Preseason WNIT second round, site & time TBA

Wednesday, Nov. 14 -- Preseason WNIT semifinals, site & time TBA

Sunday, Nov. 18 -- Preseason WNIT final, site & time TBA

Tuesday, Nov. 20 -- Robert Morris, home, time TBA

Friday, Nov. 23 -- vs. Florida International (FIU Tournament semifinals, at Miami), 5 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 25 -- vs. LSU or West Virginia (FIU Tournament final, at Miami), noon or 2 p.m.

Wednesday, Nov. 28 -- at Florida State (Big Ten/ACC Challenge), 6 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 1 -- Northern Iowa (home), time TBA

Thursday, Dec. 6 -- Iowa State (home), time TBA

Sunday, Dec. 16 -- at Drake, 2 p.m.

Wednesday, Dec. 19 -- Missouri State, time TBA

Friday, Dec. 28 -- vs. Texas (San Diego Surf 'N Slam Classic), 10 p.m.

Sunday, Dec. 30 -- vs. Central Michigan or San Diego (San Diego Surf 'N Slam Classic), 4 p.m. or 6 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 3 -- Ohio State (home), time TBA

Sunday, Jan. 6 -- Michigan (home), time TBA

Thursday, Jan. 10 -- at Wisconsin, time TBA

Thursday, Jan. 17 -- at Michigan State, time TBA

Sunday, Jan. 20 -- Purdue (home), time TBA

Thursday, Jan. 24 -- Wisconsin (home), time TBA

Sunday, Jan. 27 -- at Michigan, time TBA

Thursday, Jan. 31 -- at Illinois, time TBA

Sunday, Feb. 3 -- Northwestern (home), time TBA

Thursday, Feb. 7 -- at Minnesota, time TBA

Monday, Feb. 11 -- Nebraska (home), time TBA

Thursday, Feb. 14 -- Penn State (home), time TBA

Sunday, Feb. 17 -- at Purdue, time TBA

Sunday, Feb. 24 -- at Nebraska

Thursday, Feb. 28 -- Indiana (home), time TBA

Sunday, March 3 -- at Northwestern, time TBA

Thursday-Sunday, March 7-10 -- Big Ten Tournament, at Hoffman Estates, Ill.

Have you found an error or omission in our reporting? Is there other feedback and/or ideas you want to share with us? Tell us here.



Featured Jobs from corridorcareers.com